trackkillo.blogg.se

Western digital my passport 1tb speed
Western digital my passport 1tb speed















We also monitor cache recovery via multiple idle rounds and the temperature of the drive via the S.M.A.R.T. We use iometer to hammer the SSD with sequential writes for 15 minutes to measure both the size of the write cache and performance after the cache is saturated.

western digital my passport 1tb speed

Sustained write speeds can suffer tremendously once the workload spills outside of the cache and into the "native" TLC or QLC flash. Most SSDs implement a write cache, a fast area of (usually) pseudo-SLC programmed flash that absorbs incoming data. Official write specifications are only part of the performance picture. Write speed and temperature are two important and inter-related metrics for external devices. Sustained Write Performance, Cache Recovery, & Temperature The Crucial SSD packs QLC flash that has a reputation for slower performance, but thanks to its DRAM-based architecture, it processes random read requests nearly twice as fast as the My Passport. The WD responds much faster to random requests than Samsung’s T7 Touch, but the Crucial X8 is faster. The My Passport SSD doesn't quite hit its rated specs when we scale up the QD to see how the drive responds during heavier workloads. However, the WD My Passport SSD is faster with small files than the Samsung T7 Touch. Each My Passport Slim comes with a 3-year limited warranty.The My Passport’s sequential performance at a QD (queue depth) of 1, which represents the most common data accesses in operating systems, is in line with most of its competition. That's a fine price for twice the storage in this form factor, though the 2TB option is thicker, at 0.70 inches, and heavier at 7.7 ounces. If 1TB of space isn't enough for you, WD offers a 2TB option with all the same features for $150. When copying 4K blocks of data, both drives returned 0.5 MBps read and 1.5 MBps write speeds. This beats the Ultra's 22.7 and 26.6 MBps read and write speeds, respectively, but not by much. When transferring 512K blocks of data, this drive returned a read speed of 23 MBps and a 26.7 MBps write speed.

western digital my passport 1tb speed

We also tested the Slim's random read and write speeds at two levels. MORE: 15 PC-Cleaning Tools to Speed Your Computer The My Passport Ultra did the same task at a 34.7 MBps sequential read speed and a slightly faster 28.5 MBps write speed. When transferring a single 1000MB sequentially, the Slim registered read and write speeds of 34.7 and 27.5 MBps, respectively. On the synthetic disk performance benchmark CrystalDiskMark, the My Passport Slim was more evenly matched with the Ultra. Sending that same file back to the My Passport Slim was also quick: 36 seconds for a 141.4 MBps write speed.

#WESTERN DIGITAL MY PASSPORT 1TB SPEED ISO#

Copying a 3.49GB ISO file from the drive to our testbed took a swift 34 seconds, a 149.7 MBps read speed. The My Passport Slim performed much better with large individual files. Still, that showing beats the WD My Passport Ultra's 29.8 MBps read speed when tested on the same system.

western digital my passport 1tb speed

Sending the same folder back to our testbed took 1 minute and 23 seconds for a read speed of 61.3 MBps, less than the 81 MBps average. That rate is also far below the 80 MBps average- which includes some SSDs - but still soundly beats WD's own My Passport Ultra (20.4 MBps).

western digital my passport 1tb speed

Click to EnlargeCopying a 4.97GB folder of multimedia files from our testbed to the My Passport Slim took 1:37, a write speed of 52.5 MBps.















Western digital my passport 1tb speed